butter light

what is idolatry?

Leave a comment


what is an idol?

An idol is anything I worship other than or alongside of God.  It is any THING, any ONE or any IDEA that I elevate to a level of importance over God or a level of competition with God.

That being true then idolatry is not just an external problem.  It is just as much an inside problem.

An easy way to identify my idols is by looking inside:

“what causes resentment to grow in me?” – that’s an idol

or

“what cravings of mine are not under God’s control?” – that’s an idol.

The best way to remove and replace my idols is to let the Gospel of Christ enter every aspect of my life.

Leave a Reply

