butter light

O who am I…?

Leave a comment


My song is love unknown

My Savior’s love to me

Love to the loveless shown

That they might lovely be

O who am I, that for my sake

My Lord should take frail flesh and die?

He came from His blest throne

Salvation to bestow

But men made strange, and none

The longed-for Christ would know

But Oh my Friend, my Friend indeed

Who at my need His life did spend

Sometimes they strew His way

And His sweet praises sing

Resounding all the day

Hosannas to their King

Then “Crucify!” is all their breath

And for His death they thirst and cry

They rise and needs will have

My dear Lord made away

A murderer they save

The Prince of Life they slay

Yet cheerful He to suffering goes

That He His foes from thence might free

Here might I stay and sing

No story so divine

Never was love, dear King,

Never was grief like Thine

This is my Friend, in

Whose sweet praise I all my days could gladly spend

Samuel Crossman, 1664

Leave a Reply

