butter light

how can I have a great life? pt 1

1 Comment


In our Trinity Career Group Sunday Bible class we talked last week about a couple of key ideas to have in mind as we get into the Book of Ecclesiastes.

I have suggested that we need to…


 

how can a text in Scripture become MEANINGFUL to me?

 

what are the basics for studying a BOOK of the Bible?


 

 

Thots on the first question, “how can a text of Scripture become meaningful to me?”

I mentioned a few weeks ago how I went through a period (a couple of years) when I would open my Bible to read and it felt like I was staring at a stone.  The warmth that I had sensed previously wasn’t there.  What was wrong?

 

“I am a Christian.  This isn’t supposed to happen to someone who is a child of God.  Am I actually lost?”

 

The fact that I was having this struggle was a double burden for me since I knew I was a Christian AND I had gone to grad school to learn Scripture.  They taught us the basic skills for interpreting a text of Scripture.  I was teaching Sunday School nearly every week so I had a worthy purpose to be digging into God’s Word.  But, for some reason the Bible didn’t feel real – not as real as I wanted it to be or not as real I had felt it was to others.

 

So, I prayed to the Author about this problem.  He answered my prayer in a simple way.  I figured the answer to my problem would be something unusual that I hadn’t noticed or something almost “divinely magical.”  Instead, the answer was something simple – just plain simple – lovely, splendid, awesome, but magically simple.

 

The rest of the story next time

One thought on “how can I have a great life? pt 1

  1. Pingback: how can I have a great life, part 2 « borrowed light

Leave a Reply

