butter light

preparing for worship 6.11.11

Leave a comment


again I turn to C. H. Spurgeon

*  *  *  *  *

sermon: The Good Shepherd, Psalm 23.1

The LORD is my shepherd. I shall not want.

DOES not this sound just like poetry or like singing? If you read the entire Psalm through, it is written in such poetic prose that though it is not translated into meter, as it should have been, it reads just like it.

“The Lord is my Shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul: He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.” It sounds like music for this, among other reasons, because it came from David’s heart. That which comes from the heart always has melody in it.

When men speak of what they know and from the depths of their souls testify to what they have seen, they speak with what we call, eloquence, for true eloquence is speaking from the soul.

*  *  *  *  *

Happy Lord’s Day.

Leave a Reply

