butter light

what is my fave way to whine? (we’ve plenty to choose from)

Leave a comment


File:Vincent Willem van Gogh 002.jpg

(from a recent small group discussion)

Notice how each of the Ten Commandments (in Exodus 20) exposes our inner demands. Each of these human demands is basically some form of resentment, a desire to control. Isn’t resentments at the root of why we don’t like The Ten Commandments, the idea of rules in general or when someone gets in the way of what we want (even if that something is something good)? Idolatry is not just a Second Commandment issue. Idolatry in some form or another is addressed by all ten commandments AND resentment is a master craftsman of idols.

Top TEN RESENTMENTS

1 THOU SHALT HAVE GOD AS ONE AMONG OTHERS

root resentment: “God supreme over EVERYTHING?! He can’t be that big?!”

2 THOU SHALT REVERE YOUR ‘MOST FAVORITE’ STUFF

root resentment: “I define enjoyment as I please! I own me.”

3 THOU SHALT USE GOD’S PERSON OR NAME AS A RABBIT’S FOOT

root resentment: “God is my genie. That’s why I see Him as either a source of good luck or object of my anger.”

4 THOU SHALT FORGET THAT ALL OF LIFE IS TO BE LIVED IN GOD’S PRESENCE

root resentment: “How could I rest in God when my life is restless?.”

5 THOU SHALT MANIPULATE AUTHORITY

root resentment: “I, yes I, am the master of my own life.”

6 THOU SHALT PUT OTHERS IN BOXES OR LISTS OF GOOD OR BAD

root resentment: “Can you believe how they stand in my way?!”

7 THOU SHALT HELP OR ‘MARGINALIZE’ YOUR SPOUSE AS YOU SEE FIT

root resentment: “Measure marriage by – ‘to thine own self be true’.”

8 THOU SHALT TAKE WHATEVER FOR YOUR OWN ADVANTAGE

root resentment: “If I don’t take care of #1…”

9 THOU SHALT COVER UP YOUR SHORT FALLINGS

root resentment: “Truth is flexible – my primary interests are not.”

10 THOU SHALT DESIRE TO YOUR HEART’S CONTENT

root resentment: “I will secretly or openly long after what pleases me.”

Note: Depression and resentment are cousins. Whining comes in many flavors.

Leave a Reply

